Iran banks pressed to retreat from asset speculation

Iran has eight state-run and 19 “privately owned” banks – although these are frequently subject to interference from the state, with their shares bought by entities affiliated to power centres, which then influence banking policies and exploit funds - all of which have invested heavily in the ownership and management of commercial entities outside the banking sector. The central bank, state-run Bank Melli and privately owned banks of Ansar, Saderat, Mellat, Pasargad and Parsian refused to comment. Pasargad and Parsian are considered the leading private banks in non-banking operations.